What I Know For Sure

Ask yourself, what do you know for sure?

I know for sure that the sun will rise everyday. I know for sure that everyday the sun’s rays peeking through the towering buildings resembles a brand new day. And I know for certain that the smile on my face is up to me and not those around me.

I know for sure that experiences leave their imprints on us. Wether we acknowledge them or not, these imprints remain in our sub-conscious mind. Experiences shape us into us.

It is best to learn through experiences and it is a time-saver to learn from other’s experiences.

zoom_double_736998-What-I-Know-For-Sure-Oprah-Winfrey

Listening to some stories about other’s lives broads our perspective. It opens up our minds for something different. We allow ourselves to think out of the box and we are often then open for discussions. This further builds into a new window of experience and view.

Every society it different, every up-bringing is different and there is so much to learn from everyone. Seeing the lives of others sans prejudice is an eye opener that life can be this way too.

Personally I’ve had such an experience that life can be so different. When I visited another country, I saw the way people lived there. Their life was ten thousand miles apart from those who are now living in refugee camps.

A recent post on the lack of tampons or sanitary napkins in refugee camps aroused a thought process in me, like a slap right in the face. It made we feel towards a side that had been clearly neglected. We talk about the increase in the camps but whatΒ of dignity that so many of the women residing there inevitably must loose every month?

Apart from this slap, my first encounter with an eye opening experience was the way resilience can shape a human. i can across the book ‘What I Know For Sure.’ It is written by Oprah Winfrey. Rather it is a compilation of her articles.

e6ecf6f283c2877523c73a116dbfea0e

The book if you have ever seen it is divided into multiple parts ranging from connection, joy, clarity, resilience to love. One read was all it took for me to call this book a Bible for my life

What I Know For Sure is about her experiences in life. The way abuse, friendship and a never back down attitude can all be cramped in a life. And most importantly how such a life can still be successful.

So much was my love for this book that I gifted it to my mom. I told her to read it and seek encouragement form it. In front of these rise from the ashes experiences, we have suffered so little.

Heart in heart though, I’ve wished for a struggle because a struggle along with a lot of persistence shows a success chart. Not just any success but sure as hell a long lasting one. That’s the kind we all look for.

If you have ever read ‘What I Know For Sure’ please comment and share your experiences about it. And of course if you haven’t grab and copy and read it throughly. This one is especially for you ladies out there!

7 thoughts on “What I Know For Sure

  1. What I Know For Sure is that this blogger and these posts are deserved to be shared. I really love the hidden and upfront messaged shown in this post. Felt a agony in my heart while i was reading the refugee part. Keep this spirit high. Cause a mind and thinking plot like you can change the world. FOR SURE. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment